cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

I'm a first time northeast driver and I'm uneasy..

StephJohn2010
Explorer
Explorer
Which is a better route around NY City area for a 42ft motorhome and towing.

I've never driven our rig (or a car for that matter) anywhere near northeast United States and need some help. Which route is better for a big rig: Allentown, PA to Portsmouth, NH.

A) From Allentown: I-78 East to I-287 North then I-87 North to Newburgh, NY then East on I-84 then East on I-90 to I-495 North to I-95 North.

B) From Allentown: I-476 North to Lehighton then East on 209 to Stroudsburg continue on 209 northeast to Milford near I-84. Then east on I-84 to I-90 East then I-495 North to I-95 North.

I'm also wondering: Where are any halfway decent/good rv parks along either route?
John & Steph
2012 Fleetwood Discovery 40x (35,000 miles)
380 HP Cummins with an Allison Transmission - Freightliner Chassis
2015 Jeep Cherokee Limited Active Drive II
29 REPLIES 29

live4thedash
Explorer
Explorer
We live in NH. We were in Allentown back in Aug returning for a xcountry trip. We did the 287 route that others have mentioned. It kept out of the city. After that the ride was uneventful up through CT, MA and into NH.

StephJohn2010 wrote-though. I'm not looking forward to crazy drivers

Well then.... stay far, far away from NY Traffic! :B

I had to say it!
Me-Her-the kids
2020 Ford F350 SD 6.7
2020 Redwood 3991RD Garnet

StephJohn2010
Explorer
Explorer
RVUSA wrote:
StephJohn2010 wrote:
RVUSA wrote:
42 feet and first time driving an rv? wow buy some driving gloves, you are bound for blisters otherwise. It will take a while until you experience most of the things that happens on the roads with a big rig so just stay relaxed.