Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Campground close to nyc

Weeluvdis
Explorer
Explorer
Hello
I am new to this sight and new first time travel trailer owner. I am looking for a campground close to NYC. After researching I have only come up with 2. Of course I would like full hook ups but water and electric would do. Don't need any frills as trip is entirely to tour NYC. I found a place in NJ that basically sounds like a gravel parking lot for 80.00 a night. I also found a place in Pennsylvania, about an hour from NYC with full hookups for 60.00 a night. Sounds nice but didn't really want to drive an hour into NYC. The NJ one would be ok I guess but is pricey for a parking lot but puts you right across the river. Any ideas or thoughts on these two places or any other? NJ one is called Liberty Harbor RV park and the PA one is called Black Bear Campground.
18 REPLIES 18

Retired_JSO
Explorer
Explorer
sdianel wrote:
Newburgh KOA is about an hour from the city and there is a train station in Beacon NY a short drive away. The KOA has a bus tour into the city that leaves from the campground.

We stayed at the Newburgh KOA cause I despise NYC driving. We took the tour from the campground. Motor coach to downtown via the tunnel $65 each includes all admissions. Saw times square, went to Battery Park, Liberty Island and statue, ground zero, Rockefeller Center, Empire State Building.

wbwood
Explorer
Explorer
Merrykalia wrote:

LH is convenient enough that you don't have to eat your meals in the city, you can eat breakfast, grab a snack and get back to fix dinner in your own "home".

Being in such a magnificent city, why would you wanna eat dinner in your RV?
Brian
2013 Thor Chateau 31L

markandkim
Explorer II
Explorer II
If your military, there NWS Earle N.J. Full hook-ups pet friendly and very secure. A short ride to NYC, relatively speaking.
Retired Navy

2020 Ram 2500 Bighorn 6.7L
2014 Crossroads Zinger 27RL
2022 Grand Design Reflection 315RLTS