cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

1964 holiday rambler restoration /12 volt system problems

The_rambler64
Explorer
Explorer
First off hello, im new to rving and new to rv.net,and i need your help.
It all started when my wife wanted a camper. After much shopping a decieded they were overpriced and id rather restore a vintage model. After scouring craigslists and adds for a couple months we settled on a 1964 holiday rambler in very nice shape. We started by stripping everything on the inside to expose any soft spots which were repaired. I rebiult the entire plumbing system adding a hotwater tank and shower in the bathroom.
We stripped the entire outside aluminum it was in such great shape i ended up polishing 2' of it down the center and base coat clear coated the rest in a red , off white,turquoise paint scheme. Next all the aluminum windows were polished and restored with new cranks installed.

Next i tackled all the outside running and tail lights converting them all to led and installing a new 7 point plug in. Everything works perfect as intended.

The one thing the camper didnt have was a battery, the box was there but the wires had been removed. So i installed a brand new 12volt system with a glass matt battery and a 16 circuit fuse center . I added several new circiuts such as electric water pump, fan, usb chargers loft lights. They all function perfectly

Now im ready to reinsulate and panel the interior. Heres my problem the exsisting house lights they are original and each light has two bulbs and two switches . The 110 lights work perfectly when the rv is plugged into shore power. My problem is with the 12volt lights i cannot get them to work with the battery i must have something not quite right.