cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Awning Sun Protection

SpeakEasy
Explorer
Explorer
I've recently completed a DIY awning sun protection project that I'm excited to share. I have it on a google photos shared album that I hope all can see. It is here, and I invite you to take a look. Read the comments on all the photos to get the full story of how I developed this.

This is my first attempt at sharing a project like this using a shared google photo album. I would love to hear from you, either about the awning project OR about your experience viewing it on the shared google photo album.

Thanks,

-Speak
It's just Mrs. SpeakEasy and me now (empty-nesters). But we can choose from among 7 grandchildren to drag along with us!

2014 F-150 Super Crew Short Bed 3.5L Ecoboost
2014 Flagstaff Micro Lite 23LB
19 REPLIES 19

joshuajim
Explorer II
Explorer II
The sun out here in the desert is brutal, so I bought a roll of 6" wide Eternabond and laid it out on the top of the rolled up awning. It doesn't completely cover the sun affected area but it protects the most sun affected area. It has remained very flexible and everyone knows that once you put it down, it takes a nuclear explosion to get it off.
RVing since 1995.

Ron3rd
Explorer
Explorer
SpeakEasy wrote:
Ron3rd wrote:
I've seen a lot of DIY awning covers over the years (even made one myself) but this is the best idea I've seen because you can drive with it and it will stay on in high wind while parked.

Years ago I made a cover from vinyl gutter pieces and it worked fine, but when we moved to a windier area, I could not use it anymore.

Very, very good idea.