cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Water damage

Coro77
Explorer
Explorer
Hello, please be kind as I am a complete newbie and I have no mechanic or handyman skills at all. I just purchased an rv and I already have major issues. I just took out my rv for the first time and made the mistake of not putting on a regulator when I hooked it up to city water. I was in my rv, about 10 mins after hooking up, when a gentleman informed me that my filter blow out and water was going everywhere outside....he said I was lucky i did not do damage inside. Everything went great afterwards, did not notice any leaks until the the end of my trip when i came home and noticed the fresh water tank (I filled it before I left...did not use it at all) was leaking all this water from under the fresh tank as well as under were I plug in the city water..I tried to close the valves but no matter what I closed it would not stop leaking....I have no idea what I did wrong?? Anyways, this all happen last week and over the weekend when I dug deeper I found major water damage....soft wet wood, dry wood rot, mold in the floor as well as the walls under the sink/stove as well as under the tub area...my questions are as follow:
Could all this damage happen from just last week or do you think I purchased someone else's problems? (I am a idiot. I did not have a professional inspection)
Due to my very limited extra income I cannot afford to pay 5000 or more to have this fixed....if I remove everything such as the wood, carpet, rotted walls/floors ect...do you think that would lower the cost a good deal?
If I attempted to do whole project myself...do I need to remove the outside fiberglass or can I do all the structure work from inside of the rv?
Any thoughts or suggestions? I could post pics later this week if that would help...
10 REPLIES 10

RVcircus
Explorer II
Explorer II
Coro77 wrote: