cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

FIrst Excperience Towing 5th compared to TT

rowekmr
Explorer
Explorer
I have been towing my travel trailer for 8 years and other small trailers a little longer. I am really accustomed to hitching and unhitching by myself and travelling long distances with it. After towing a 5th wheel I am really impressed with the simpler and more robust hitching process (that you can see from cab) and the stability is like night and day. Not that I ever had my TT dangerously swaying down the highway but it never tracked as solid as the few 5th wheels I have towed. One thing I happily miss is hooking up WD and sway bars and that loud creaking noise from the WD when driving through a quiet campground while turning.
10 Lincoln MKS Ecoboost
07 Lincoln Navigator
00 Newmar Dutch Star 3851
33 REPLIES 33

starcraft69
Explorer
Explorer
RedJeep wrote:
starcraft69 wrote:
I just towed our new 5th wheel for the first time yesterday!!!!!! It was a first for me, and I loved it. I went from a truck camper and a boat to the 5th wheel. It was super easy to hitch up and tow. With in a few mile I was already speeding I am going to have to remember to slow down. I love how easy it is.

So no more boat? Was giving up the boat worth going to the FW?

I will be keeping the camper for the few trips that we do with the boat. Most of my fishing is day trip fishing. I still may be able to tow boat with 5th wheel. It is worth it the wife and I are starting to take much bigger trips 9-14 days and soon 1- 1 1/2 month. We are not just weekending it as much.
2007 chevy 2500 HD 6.0 longbed
2015 Eagle HT 28.5 5th wheel
tucker the fishing dog

RedJeep
Explorer
Explorer
starcraft69 wrote: