cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Pin box clearance

OspreyGuy
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to the camping scene but have pulled goose neck trailers most of my life. I recently bought a 2014 Spartan 1032 (love it), but I have an issue...if I turn too sharply, maybe 75-80 degrees the pin box in my camper will contact the sides of my truck bed. I would raise the hitch height, but I'm afraid it would unload the tounge weight and lead to issues while driving...anybody have any insight?? Any help would be very much appreciated!
9 REPLIES 9

otrfun
Explorer II
Explorer II
OspreyGuy wrote:
I am new to the camping scene but have pulled goose neck trailers most of my life. I recently bought a 2014 Spartan 1032 (love it), but I have an issue...if I turn too sharply, maybe 75-80 degrees the pin box in my camper will contact the sides of my truck bed. I would raise the hitch height, but I'm afraid it would unload the tounge weight and lead to issues while driving...anybody have any insight?? Any help would be very much appreciated!
Curious, are you finding you actually need the full 90 degrees?

We only get 70-80 degrees with our SB truck and it's been more than enough clearance to get the job done. With our rig the pin box would contact the bed rail at the same time the cap would hit the cab. So, when turning and such all we need to do is watch the pin-box/bed-rail clearance (either directly or via the rear view mirror) and we know all is good.

BB_TX
Nomad
Nomad
Problem of the pin box hitting the rails has been posted a number of times. Some have solved the problem by cutting the rear corners of the pin box at a 45 degree angle to clear the rails in a turn.

If your hitch and pin box has extra holes for height adjustments, you might could raise the hitch and pin box a hole or two to get more clearance.