cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Pin weights

revflyr
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new to toy haulers and read alot about how the pin weight will change when the garage is loaded. I'm not finding that to be true with my set up. With app 1800 lbs in the garage I might see about 50 lb change.
I have a 386x12 triple axle trailer that weighs 17,100 loaded with toys and 1/3 water. Of the 17,000,My pin weight is 2,720 lbs. I'm not having any problems towing but just see so many post that the pin weight changes when people load their garage area.
Thanks for any input. Richard
9 REPLIES 9

2500_Grunt
Explorer
Explorer
I don't have a FW but my TT TH's tongue weight does not change at all by adding my 1400# sandrail to my 33 footer. I have a tongue scale and have weighed it both ways. Like stated above don't believe anything a dealer tells you!
2005 Dodge 2500 5.9 SRW long bed
2014 FS28 Evergreen Amped TH Blue Ox 2000# WDH
2300CC VW turbo 4 seat sandrail, Yz450f, 350 Raptor quad

arhayes
Explorer
Explorer
We're seriously looking at FTimg in a TH so we can bring the GoldWing with us and have not found a suitable alternative using a 5ver to date. My question is what lifetime could we expect out of the TV (a 350 DRW) with the extra weight of the TH?
Alan and Kathleen
2015 Grand Design Momentum 380TH (RVD2)
2014 F350 6.7L Diesel DRW (Stormtrooper)
2012 Honda Goldwing NAVI/ABS (Land Speeder)

JIMNLIN
Explorer
Explorer
revflyr wrote:
Thanks everyone, I'm towing with a 2012 3500 drw dodge so the pin weight
is not a issue for me. The reason for my post is I read so many about how heavy the pin weight is on a unload toy hauler. The dealers are telling people with 2500 trucks that the pin weight will change when they load their garage and they will be ok with their pin weight when loaded.
I'm just not finding that to be true, Thanks again.

I don't have or use a TH but I do have a 36' 18k GN stock trailer and have had tandem axle GN stock trailers.