cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Propane frig on while driving?

babun
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new to Rv'ing so excuse this question.....

I've heard the importation of a level camper so the the refig works correctly.
Also heard all the horror stories... dead refig in minutes, end of the world, teenage daughter gets pregnant, if the camper is not level.

I have a mountain climb on I40 in east tenn. that is quite steep and long, about 7 miles of driving. I'm sure there are steeper and longer grades out there.

Does your refig blow up as you crest the top??
41 REPLIES 41

shepstone
Explorer
Explorer
So its ok for the fridge, now what about the furnace?
2017 F350 Ruby Red Super Cab Dually 6.7 3.55 gears. B&W Companion 25K. BackRack. Gatorback mud guards. AUX65FCBRG aux tank. 2021 GD 380fl
2010 GMC Savanna 3500 extended 6.0

babun
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks, I kinda figgered when moving and it's running already, it's okay.
Next, I'll ask about LT vs. ST tires.....

just kidding..read all the threads about that!!

K_Charles
Explorer
Explorer
broark01 wrote:
Been all over the Appalachians and the Rockies with the refrigerator running on gas, no pregnant daughters yet 🙂 or other malfunctions.

If I knew that was the cause I would have turned the fridge off long ago.......and let her out of her room.

BB_TX
Nomad
Nomad
This seems to be discussed (and cussed) at least weekly. The majority here run with them on and never turn them off. Some few are concerned about fires/explosions when fueling and may turn them off at that time. No problem running it though as far as concern about the fridge itself.

Mine is turned on in auto a day or two before we leave home and doesn't get turned off until we get home. And that includes going over Colorado mountain passes.

ChooChooMan74
Explorer
Explorer
Search the threads. Discussed so many times. Majority says fine. Minority says dangerous.
Great American Anti-Towing Conspiracy