cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trying to decide which way to go on fifth wheel hitch

RooDude09
Explorer
Explorer
My wife and I are looking to switch to a fifth wheel from a bumper pull. I have a 2015 F-250 with short bed. The trailer we are looking at is equipped with a turning point pin box. I’ve seen and read some things on the internet that make me question the stability of system when towing and the blocking mechanism to keep the pin from turning in the hitch. I know my other option is to put in a sliding hitch and I’d be most comfortable with an automatic slider but that drives the price up substantially. My truck was previously outfitted with a rail system of some sort but everything is gone but the holes are in the bed. I’ve priced out the factory ford prep kit but it looks like puck style hitches are more expensive although I have the means to put it in myself as I’m a mechanic at a ford dealer. If anyone could give me they’re advice on what you like/use it would be greatly appreciated.
28 REPLIES 28

thomas201
Explorer
Explorer
Another vote for rails. I don't haul dirt and rocks, but I do haul stuff. Last week I hauled a new boiler for a house I own. The rails matched with straps that fit the slots give a rock solid anchor system, not like those dinky little anchors in the bed sheet metal.

I have a very tight driveway where I park the 5er. I don't need a slider since the nose is notched, I do use a slider. Why? Because it moves the pivot back past the rear axle. Gets the old 5er swinging a little faster like a bumper pull.

Dave_H_M
Explorer
Explorer
Someone will always claim they have invented a better mouse trap and people will buy it. 😉

My currently old 2012 F250 has rails in the bed which are topped of with a Reese 15K Classic

That set up gets me there safe and sound every time. And I have no use for a slider.