Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Newbie Full-timing questions

elhajj33
Explorer
Explorer
Hi all,

My first post in the forums (be gentle if i break any social rules) ๐Ÿ™‚ My wife and I, and our 5 kids are seriously considering full timing. I've been reading the forums for a while and finally decided to post for the first time with some questions. Here goes:

1. 5th Wheels to buy. We're wondering what the "Chevys" and "Cadillacs" of 5th wheelers are? We really like the 2015 coachmen brookestone, but we've also looked at a 2013 Keystone Raptor today that was pretty posh. For us, the bigger the better and the TV will most likely be a Ford f-350. but we're wondering who makes the low end and high-end of 5ers?

2. Trailer parks or....What appeals to us about full timing is being able to be out in nature. I'm a semi pro photographer and i want us to be able to see beautiful places without breaking the bank each month. The wife and I are not excited about being in trailer parks with the kids being around who knows who.... are there "nice/safe" places to stay other than local trailer parks (this is the dumbest of my questions, i'm sorry but I don't know of any other way to ask it?)

3. Monthly camping/rental cost. I know this varies, but we're trying to figure out a budget and we're not sure what to put as the "rental space cost" per month. Sure would help if we could get a ball park.

I have a 1000 other questions, but I'll hold off for now, thanks again!
2009 Fleetwood Excursion 40x DP
Photographer: www.certainpointofview.com
34 REPLIES 34

darsben
Explorer II
Explorer II
Consider volunteering at federal Campgrounds. You will get a free site usually with water, electric and sewer.You will volunteer so many hours a week in trade. This will cut down on expenses and allow you to photograph nature. In the Tonto national forest I have gotten great shots of Road runners, Gila monsters, tarantulas and man different birds.