Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Useful advice for long term RV living

norfla71
Explorer
Explorer
Everyone,

I'm still a few years off from hitting the road. When the nest emptys, we're hitting the road for months on end; a whole lot of hemisphere left to explore. I have a few years of weekend camping experience, but this is wholy next level, and need some advice on where to start (we have time 😉 )as there are a ton of options out there; I'm trying to pair this down to what's really needed, and what can be left on the camp store shelves or dealer lot.

Our rig has a ton of storage, so we can pack quite a bit. However, I'm not so sure we need to pack the house up every time we hit the road. Experiences vary, but what (as a general rule) does everyone find is most needed, and what can be left at home? We plan on spending more time outside, so a nice grille and residential fridge are comming, once we get the garage electrical fixed and upgraded.
2008 Ram 3500 SRW
2006 Salem 32SRV

***looking for a better truck this fall***
14 REPLIES 14

bound4fl
Explorer
Explorer
Dog Folks wrote:
Don't over pack or worry about forgetting something.

There is a WalMart in almost every town to fill in with any forgotten items.

Don't sweat the small stuff. Soon you will realize it ALL is small stuff.

Have a good attitude and have fun.

X2
Killin time waitin on tomorrow.

Dog_Folks
Explorer
Explorer
Don't over pack or worry about forgetting something.

There is a WalMart in almost every town to fill in with any forgotten items.

Don't sweat the small stuff. Soon you will realize it ALL is small stuff.

Have a good attitude and have fun.
Our Rig:
2005 Dodge 3500 - Dually- Cummins
2006 Outback 27 RSDS

We also have with us two rescue dogs. A Chihuahua mix & a Catahoula mix.

"I did not get to this advanced age because I am stupid."

Full time since June 2006

norfla71
Explorer
Explorer