cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

2015 Thor Challenger Residential Refer

Cbones
Explorer
Explorer
A friend of mine purchased a 2015 Thor Challenger. It comes standard with a Residential refer and a Xantrex 1800w inverter running off 2 6v deep cycle batteries, as well as a rudimentary Magnum Autogen start. The problem is that the refer will only run if connected to shore power or running the genny. Does this make any sense, or is this a wiring issue? Would an 1800w inverter be large enough to handle the refer load? The inverter is definitely working, as he can watch tv and power the sat receiver off the batteries, however, we were unable to find any hot outlets when only in inverter operation. We were boondocking this past weekend, and he had to run the genny continuously, which kind of defeats the purpose of having quiet time. Unfortunately, I have very little experience with the late model gas coaches.
16 REPLIES 16

mikensallyt
Explorer
Explorer
Oops, yes do have two 6v batteries hooked up in a series for power of 12 volts. But why couldn't I just run or replace them with one 12v battery or even 2. I'm not technical savvy at all.
Retired USN 1996, RMCS(SW/AW)
Traveling solo in my 2015 Thor Challenger since my wife of 25 years went solo to the Lord
Seems like every trip out there's a warranty repair on it afterwards
F/T in two years from now. Last child to graduate first.

RayChez
Explorer
Explorer
Some coaches do not have all the outlets hooked up to inverter use. They only have a couple. But one of them should be the refrigerator outlet. Maybe Thor figures this coach should only be plugged into shore power in order for the refrigerator to work. Two house batteries is just not enough to run everything in the coach unless you have solar panels. I have seen coaches with four six volt batteries and a 2000 watt inverter have problems keeping the batteries up while dry camping. Generator has to start every eight hours.