Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

30 amp rv

roadrat57
Explorer
Explorer
First time rv owner
Have reserved a few stops at rv camps for Spring. Just wondering, do I need to request a 30 amp hook up when they offer both 30 and 50 amp hook ups? You can see I am a rookie.

Thanks,
Mike
17 REPLIES 17

Valbego
Explorer
Explorer
I have had similar instances where some pedestals had corrosion, wiring issues, water intrusion, etc. at the campground. I do the same thing David and Dayle do. I carry a circuit tester, 30 amp and 50 amp adapters in my RV setup kit. This way I can test the pedestal before hooking up my rig to it. Circuit analyzers/monitors are good too to protect rig from surges and frequency changes that could upset some electronic components.

As far as 50 amp vs. 30 amp pedestals. To be absolutely confident that damage won't be incurred using the 50 amp pedestal on your 30 amp rig you should know the construction of the electrical system. I have a 30 amp rig. There are 2 40 amp fuses in my power panel to protect from surges. Amps is the flow of electricity, so when flow increases, so does heat and that is what melts the fuse and breaks the contact. The wire size plays a part in this...the smaller the diameter of the wire the more heat can be produces because of increased resistance. Take a look at some basic electricity you tube videos to help understand. I am an aviation mechanic who works on electrical systems and not a certified licensed home electrician--FYI.
Happy Rving,

Valbego

DavidandDayle
Explorer
Explorer
I do one more step. I have a circuit tester that plugs in to a 15 amp socket and tells me about open or reversed poles. After I plug the RV in, I use the tester on one of the outside sockets of the RV. On mine, I should get 2 orange lights.
The really cautious may want to test the campground socket (with the adapter) before plugging in.
David and Dayle

roadrat57
Explorer
Explorer