cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

50 amp female to 30 amp male shore power cord question

JimInMich
Explorer
Explorer
I've had lots of TT with 30 amp shore power cords, so I naturally have a 30 amp RV box on the side of my pole barn. Now I'm brand new to a Class A and it's 50 amp cord. I just ordered a dog bone adapter to convert the 50 to a 30, but what I'm wondering is, do I lose half of my MH power? Or does it all power up and I just cant use both A/C's?
Current: 1987 Georgie Boy Encounter 34',John Deere chassis,460c.i./C6.
SOLD-2012 Cougar XLite 27RLS
SOLD-2008 Aerolite 24FB
SOLD-2004 Shadow Cruiser Fun Finder 189FBR
Just the Wife and I.
20 REPLIES 20

wa8yxm
Explorer III
Explorer III
Opion 2. Everythign gets power but yes. Only one A/C and you may have to restrict use of Microwave and ELectric water heater at same time as well.

Do it, usually about half the summer and 2/3 of the winter myself.
Home was where I park it. but alas the.
2005 Damon Intruder 377 Alas declared a total loss
after a semi "nicked" it. Still have the radios
Kenwood TS-2000, ICOM ID-5100, ID-51A+2, ID-880 REF030C most times

parkmanaa
Explorer
Explorer
Guess I am too self-centered. We use our Class A (50 amp) MH for guests, sometimes for up to a week.
Would not want to try to explain each time how they need to manager the power.

I'll get my nose out of it now......................

JimInMich
Explorer
Explorer
parkmanaa wrote:
usersmanual wrote:
parkmanaa wrote:
Is it not possible to run a second 120v line (different phase), from your service panel to that 30 amp receptacle on your pole barn, then install a regular 50-amp receptacle?
I predict you will not be happy in the long run "managing" 30 amps for a 50-amp MH. Also I predict you will get tired of changing that 30 amp breaker due to it becoming weak from frequent tripping.

On contrare 30 amps is plenty much unless your living in it in summer while trying to run two roof AC units and other stuff to boot