cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

How does the switch in the battery compartment work?

Cooncatz
Explorer
Explorer
The house battery in the Class-C I recently bought was discharged and I am about to replace it - I have no knowledge of how the switch in the battery compartment works

I assume OFF totally disconnects the house battery from all 12 volt applications.
1. Should I turn the switch off when connected to shore power?
2. Will house battery charge with switch in the OFF position?
3. Should I turn the switch OFF when traveling?
4. Should I turn the switch OFF when RV is not in use?
5. Is the house battery used to start the generator?
9 REPLIES 9

Bobbo
Explorer II
Explorer II
If it is in the battery compartment, I bet the previous owner installed it.
Bobbo and Lin
2017 F-150 XLT 4x4 SuperCab w/Max Tow Package 3.5l EcoBoost V6
2017 Airstream Flying Cloud 23FB

Bordercollie
Explorer
Explorer
It might be best to contact the previous owner, if possible, and ask what the switch is for. Older rigs often have DIY fixes and "improvements" that confuse the new owners. Four Winds may have an idea about the switch too.

SCVJeff
Explorer
Explorer
thestoloffs wrote:
Cooncatz wrote:
The house battery in the Class-C I recently bought was discharged and I am about to replace it - I have no knowledge of how the switch in the battery compartment works

I assume OFF totally disconnects the house battery from all 12 volt applications.

Every unit could be wired differently, but most follow certain general principles. On this basis, I'd answer:

1. Yes, although it could limit house battery recharging from the convertor.
  2. See above.
  3. NO. An absorbtion refrigerator must have 12 VDC power during non-AC powered operation, in addition to gas.
  4. That's a question of whether or not your unit has parasitic drains (always-on DC items, like LP gas and CO detectors).