cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Input Requested - New Toad

Dave_n_Alice
Explorer
Explorer
Have been towing our old Jeep TJ but we are thinking of making a change. We are considering Honda Fit, Chevrolet Sonic and Fiat 500 - all manual transmissions. Looking at used back to 2012 and/or new. I have one major concern in changing to one of these smaller/lighter cars - road clearance! I have a Roadmaster All Terrain with a Ready Brake system setup for the motorhome. Please share with me if you have any experience with any of these cars. By the way, I stated manual transmission as there is so much conflicting data out there on automatics Thanks.
21 REPLIES 21

klm
Explorer
Explorer
I love towing my '12 Honda Fit automatic!!! I am a fulltimer, lots of miles and 24/7 rv living. The Fit is so easy - I have the Blue Ox system, virtually invisible oon the Fit. My installer ran dedicated wire for brake/turn lights on the Fit - did not tap into existing system. He added a bulb in the taillight assembly. I use Brake Buddy, installed their 12v upgrade port. I also have the battery charge running through the pigtail. Sounds like a lot, but once set up, wow - not a problem in over 2 years and lots and lots of travel!!! I find the interior plenty roomy and the space has lots of versatility. Check out all your choices, test drive them - see what suits you - for me, the Fit is great. I do see lots of them in cgs around the country, rvers have figured out it's a good fit for a toad ๐Ÿ™‚
'02 KOUNTRY STAR DP
2012 HONDA FIT "PUMPKINMOBILE"
GILLIGAN- 1ST MATE CAT - 3 HR TOUR

Lar_s
Explorer
Explorer
If you choose the Fit I'd go with the automatic. With only 109 HP it's a constant shifting nightmere. My automatic shifts frequently depending on the terrain. We're on our 3rd set of tires and finally have something that rides better. The first two were noisy and cupped quickly, even with both front and rear alignment and other things being adjusted to specs.