cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

real world mileage, diesel vs gas

chadk66
Explorer
Explorer
Am contemplating an early to mid 2000's Class A. Will be pulling an 18' enclosed trailer. Am leaning towards a diesel pusher. Dealer is trying to tell me a gasser will get as good a mileage and as good a power. I'm a diesel mechanic and I'm not buying it. What are some real world mileages and performances out there on both.
83 REPLIES 83

chadk66
Explorer
Explorer
bshpilot wrote:
if manufactures could (actually) achieve 25% better fuel economy via a tune or injector swap THEY WOULD !

I always chuckle to myself we i hear people in campgrounds claim theyre getting 18 or 20 TOWING their travel trailers. sheesh !
you can believe what u want I guess.

chadk66
Explorer
Explorer
holstein13 wrote:
chadk66 wrote:
Achieving better mileage comes from a combination of things. Altered injection timing is an important part of it. Also changing the amount of fuel at appropriate times to achieve maximum power output at the correct time. It's rather mind boggling actually
What about emissions and longevity? I'm assuming the changes to timing could have a negative effect on emissions and / or longevity. Otherwise, wouldn't every manufacturer do it?
emissions aren't an issue in ND. If u choose to abuse the power you can tear stuff up. If u mind your business and keep your foot out of it your fine. You aren't gonna do that with motorhome. But yes u can tear a truck up if your stupid lol

bshpilot
Explorer
Explorer
if manufactures could (actually) achieve 25% better fuel economy via a tune or injector swap THEY WOULD !

I always chuckle to myself we i hear people in campgrounds claim theyre getting 18 or 20 TOWING their travel trailers. sheesh !
Don R.
'04 42' Haulmark Motor Coach - 450hp/1650tq / 12 spd SmartShift
'12 Jeep Wrangler Sport (manual trans)
'17 Platinum F350 (6.7L, SRW, CC, Long bed, 4x4)

holstein13
Explorer
Explorer
chadk66 wrote: