cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Free Upgrade to Window's 10?

golf_bears
Explorer
Explorer
Got an e-mail from Microsoft saying I can sign up for a free upgrade to Windows 10 from Windows 8.1.

Anybody else got the e-mail? Are you signing up or are you waiting to see how it all shakes out?
34 REPLIES 34

rk911
Explorer
Explorer
strollin wrote:
...I will probably only move to Win 10 when I build or buy a new machine.

X2 and only when the major bugs have been exterminated.
Rich
Ham Radio, Sport Pilot, Retired 9-1-1 Call Center Administrator
'10 Jeep Liberty KK

& MaggieThe Wonder Beagle

strollin
Explorer
Explorer
8.1 Van wrote:
I have been using Windows 10 since Oct 1 2014 and the latest build is the best Windows OS I ever used IMHO. BTW Windows 10 is free for Windows 7 and 8 users if you get it in the first year ( July 29 2015 to July 29 2016) and you could use it for free forever.

Microsoft Window 10 How to Upgrade

I've run every build of the Win 10 Technical Preview and IMO, it's simply an OK OS, nothing really special about it. I see no reason to rush to install it, especially since it's free to upgrade anytime within the first year.

IMO, Win 10 is not significantly different nor significantly better than either Win 7 or Win 8 so I doubt I will take advantage of the free upgrade on any of my personal machines.

I will probably only move to Win 10 when I build or buy a new machine.
Me, her, 2 boys & 2 girls
'05 Chevy 2500HD LT 4x4, D/A
Reese Dual Cam HP
'04 Wilderness Advantage 290FLS
Twin Honda 2000s

"I'd rather wear out than rust out!"

See our pics here

8_1_Van
Explorer
Explorer
I have been using Windows 10 since Oct 1 2014 and the latest build is the best Windows OS I ever used IMHO. BTW Windows 10 is free for Windows 7 and 8 users if you get it in the first year ( July 29 2015 to July 29 2016) and you could use it for free forever.

Microsoft Window 10 How to Upgrade

RFW63050
Explorer
Explorer