Did you mean:ย 

A book for beginner

jasonofthefifth
Explorer
Explorer
Hello
I am new the proud owner of a hybrid travel
trailer

I am looking for a book to get me started, something hopefully interesting to read, but also offer me some maintenance and repair advice and help.

A book to replace the interent and to use when no on is around, Tried google and a few purchases.

I am looking for a first hand opinion of a book you would not want to leave with out.

thank you all i appreaciate your time and replies, this is the beginner section and yes i am a beginner looking for some help.
21 REPLIES 21

4X4Dodger
Explorer II
Explorer II
To my mind and without doubt THE best book on maintaining, repairing and installing ALL types of systems that RV's use is NIGEL CALDERS BOAT OWNERS MECHANICAL AND ELECTRICAL MANUAL.

While it is aimed at boats the systems are really the same in most cases except the boat systems are of (usually) higher quality. Many of the manufacturers are the same.

He goes into great detail on how to do everything you need to do and better yet how to do it properly and so it will last.

There of course are some chapters that wont be relevant but when it comes to combined AC/DC electrical systems Refrigeration, wiring and batteries he has no equal.

I actually find that most of the things the so called RV experts recommend are a bit laughable when it comes to electrics and mechanicals.

Now while he wont talk about "slide motors" specifically he does tell you in specifics how to trouble shoot anything.

2012Coleman
Explorer II
Explorer II
Dick_B wrote:
Trailer Lifes RV Maintenance Manual might come in handy.
Where does one get this?
Experience without good judgment is worthless; good judgment without experience is still good judgment!

2018 RAM 3500 Big Horn CTD
2018 Grand Design Reflection 303RLS

DSDP_Don
Explorer
Explorer