cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Advice for towing a new TT with a 2004 4-door Tundra

Gillkid
Explorer
Explorer
I know this gets exhausting for you guys to answer, but I'm new to the TT world. I thought I had a pretty good grasp on these things and then I found this forum and realized I only know a fraction of what you guys know. So, this is what I have and what I would like to get. I need to know if I'm going down the right track or if I'm way off on this one.

I just recently bought a 2004 4-door Toyota Tundra. The owners manual has it rated to pull 6500#. I'm assuming it came from the factory with the towing package. I only assume that because the hitch and 7-pin plug look factory mounted. I havent had a chance to see if its wired for a brake controller. I understand that to be the only way to know if it has the factory tow package. Does that sound correct?

I am now looking (we are actually signing the papers this Saturday if we decide to buy it) at a 2014 Heartland TrailRunner with an empty weight of 4900#. My assumption was that I would add another 1000# after all the "extras", gear and full tanks. That would give me 500-600#s to play around with. Is this a fair assumption? One thing to consider, we are simple campers. We always try to take as little as possible with us. Doubt this matters much, but just an FYI.

Assuming that the TT weight is an issue, what's necessary to get this truck tow ready. I've already made plans to install a brake controller and a 2-point sway bar when we buy the camper. Is that enough? I keep seeing WD hitches mentioned on here and wondered if that was something I needed for such a light camper. Also, what's your take on a 2-point sway bar vs. a 4-point sway bar? I haven't found anything on this subject here. My buddy told me that the dealership talked him into buying a 4-point for his truck. Did the dude get swindled? If not, is it necessary for me to get a 4-point?