Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Attaching dump hose to dump hole?

Kyte
Explorer
Explorer
Newbie here..

I have yet to have my first experience dumping. My main concern is after putting the step connector into the dump hole, do I need to put something on it so it doesn't come out of the hole or will it stay in by its self. I would think that once you pull the handle there's a lot of water pressure coming down that tube.

Any foresight would be helpful..

Thanks
Kyte in NW PA
28 REPLIES 28

DSDP_Don
Explorer
Explorer
Sounds like a lot of people using their foot or even their wife to hold the hose in. What happens in the evening when it's time for dinner or bed...what do you do with your foot?:R

"Executive" and a couple of others gave you the best advice. Not having some type of elbow on the hose, with a positive connection at the drain, is one of the biggest reasons for the hose to pop out.

You only really need a couple of pieces to meet every camping need. One is the stepped threaded connector and the rubber donut. Use a system where the hose elbow securely fits to stepped threaded connector and you're good to go. No threads on the drain, use the rubber donut.

We live out west and as messed up as California is, they aren't requiring all RV parks to have a positive connection and hose off of the ground as some states do, but you better be prepared for it if you're travelling to other states from your home state.
Don & Mary
2019 Newmar Dutch Star 4018 - All Electric
2019 Ford Raptor Crew Cab

gonefishin77
Explorer
Explorer
Same as dcmac, gets lots of comments from fellow campers: Sewie Pig

Spappy
Explorer
Explorer
Welcome to the forums! and congrats on being a new camper.