cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Great advice for newbie

Djtennyson
Explorer
Explorer
Just bought a 2004 Holiday Rambler with the Triton engine. Any great tips for starting out and or what to do and not to do?

Doug
9 REPLIES 9

echoindie
Explorer
Explorer
Hello to all. I'm a newbie too. Talk about jumping in with both feet-we bought a 2002 Fleetwood Fiesta one week and the next we packed up 2 dogs-2 parrots a monkey, hubbie and myself for our first adventure. Ok it was a shake down trip. Drove 4 hours and parked on brother in laws land. Pretended we were really on our own. After we found the water pump under the bed-and turned it on--things were great!!! Can not wait to hit the road in the spring. For now I'm enjoying picking up so many tips from this site. Debi and her little traveling gang.
Debi

NoVa_RT
Explorer
Explorer
There are a lot of things to do every time you depart. In a rush, people sometimes forget things. Make a checklist and put it on your cellphone. It's been well documented that checklists reduce errors, which is why pilots (and now medical personnel) use them. You can use a separate one for supplies, too.
2013 RT 190-Popular

spike99
Explorer
Explorer
Park / camp in your driveway or side of house for a long weekend. If you must go inside the house for something (like pillow, can opener, etc.), then double buy it. 1 item for the house and duplicate item for the RV. Thus, allowing you to proactively buy / pack the things you need. And, less surprise buys when on the road.

Hope this helps.

ksg5000
Explorer
Explorer
Keep your sense of humor - carry a cell phone and credit card - and be prepared for "stuff" to happen. Half the fun of owning an RV is following your nose and responding to the unexpected - don't sweat the small stuff and don't spend too much time planning.

PS - as you might expect with my comment - don't practice camping in your driveway - go out and camp!
Kevin

Dick_B
Explorer
Explorer
Slow down!