Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Newbie looking to buy first....well I'm not sure

AGC
Explorer
Explorer
Hello all
I'm new to RV'ing and have so many questions that I would love to ask but my first one is probably the most important one…..Should I buy an RV or a travel trailer?

I've NEVER owned an RV/TT before, neither did my parents or my in-laws; so we have NO experience with RV/TT.

My wife and I have two boys and we've done several tent camping (with our SUV parked next to us) over the past few years. We’re definitely not experts but the one thing that we realized is our family loves being outdoors and enjoys camping so over the last couple of years we've done trips to Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont and Nova Scotia. As much as we could we tried staying in campgrounds (tent or cabins) as well as hotels. My wife and I decided that we wanted to get an RV/TT to travel more with the kids before they get too old and don't want to go on vacation with us anymore. Below are some of our reasons for buying a RV/TT

1. We don’t really like staying in cabins/hotels because we don’t like using (i.e. sleeping, etc.) other people’s things (i.e. blankets, sheets, etc.)
2. Cost saving as we could eat some meals in the RV/TT, when staying in hotels we eat out EVERY meal
3. More comfortable (and safer) than tent camping
4. We can take the dog with us (also a cost saving)

We figured we try a TT first as it’s a cheaper investment and since we already have a full size SUV we don’t need to buy a tow vehicle. The one thing I love about RVs is the ability to walk go to the back and grab food/drinks/etc., where as in a TT you cannot. We are planning on several national park trips over the next few years (i.e. Yellowstone, Grand Canyon, etc.) and would love to do the trip with an RV/TT. We might also use it for trips to Disney, Hershey Park, etc.

Sorry for the long message, but wanted to give you some background about my family.
30 REPLIES 30

bikendan
Explorer