cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

leaving wdh on tow vehicle

Kathy_V
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to RVing. I have a Keystone Bullet 2070 with a wdh and sway bar system. Not sure of all the technical terms, but I think I got that right. ๐Ÿ™‚ My question is, as a woman taking that wdh hitch on and off my tow vehicle, a 2016 Nissan Frontier, is a little more than I can handle alone. Is it okay to leave that on my truck, using a hitch lock I am thinking, while I am traveling? I would have help removing it when I return home. The longest it would be on my truck would be a couple weeks or so. Also, if it is okay to leave it on any tips or suggestions about the bars/chains and keeping them in place (do they swing around while moving if not hitched?) and preventing them from dragging? Thank you! Kathy V.
29 REPLIES 29

APT
Explorer
Explorer
ScottG wrote:
I always take the hitch off the truck because I cant afford to ruin anymore jeans. Or kneecaps.

Same here. Was worse when my children were smaller, but exposed grease means my child will touch it somehow. When I unpack some of the things I store in outside storage access in the RV, I replace with the WD bars and ball mount.
A & A parents of DD 2005, DS1 2007, DS2 2009
2011 Suburban 2500 6.0L 3.73 pulling 2011 Heartland North Trail 28BRS
2017 Subaru Outback 3.6R
2x 2023 Chevrolet Bolt EUV (Gray and Black Twins)

LarryJM
Explorer II
Explorer II
KD4UPL wrote:
I'd leave it on. Do be aware that for some ridiculous reason it is illegal in certain places. (What's this country coming too?)
sch911 mentioned VA. I've lived here for 40 years and that's news to me. I have a tow ball in just about every hitch I own all the time and I've never had anyone question it.

I've also lived in Va for 35+ years and like you what sch911 mentioned is news to me too. Even if illegal I doubt one would get much more than a "FIX IT" type ticket or warning if noticed.

Larry