cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Reading outlet voltage

bskomp
Explorer
Explorer
Hey everyone newbie here and need help and a lot of time to read all the info on this forum. I've been reading about voltage drop and warning's online. But here's the thing I know just enough about voltage and amp to get in trouble or break something. However i do try to careful.

With all that being said I have a ? that I just can't' get a straight answer on. Answer on Will my a/c unit make a outlet drop below 20% voltage reading? I've seen drops as low as 102 last night. So just shut it down. I just bought this camper it's set up in a park that's been around. So wiring is old the camper is 09 model and has been on site for three years now so I'm not sure the amount of abuse that the a/c has encountered. I had the handy man come out last night and change lugs in 30amp post and install new breaker. Came on and worked for a bit hen went right back to surging again reading's dropped to 103-109 for a short period then tripping breaker. So Now I'm worrying if it has already killed a/c unit.

Just wanted to make sure it's not my a/c unit before I call him back and worry him over my ignorance or him pointing the finger /blame on my camper. Sorry for long post but high temps with pups/kids got to get to bottom of this. Thanks guys for any thoughts/info.
31 REPLIES 31

bskomp
Explorer
Explorer
Well changed breaker.know I to turn all the way down to 50 for the unit to recycle crazy. when it first started it was at 70 then hasn't came back on until you slide it down to 50. got fan running now to draw in hot air. but it's 80 outside and camper sits in shade.

enblethen
Nomad
Nomad
You might try running the AC for an hour or so.
Feel the breaker first then run the AC for an hour and see how hot the breaker gets. Compare temperature with one adjacent to it.

Bud
USAF Retired
Pace Arrow

2003 Chev Ice Road Tracker

bskomp
Explorer
Explorer