cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

RV Service Centers... and Caulking

Jcs1382
Explorer
Explorer
I'm fairly new to RVing and had thought I'd found a good local (San Antonio, TX) service center to help me keep my fifth wheel in good repair. I just had it in for repairs. They were supposed to check all seals and clean out old caulk and re-seal everywhere necessary. I was in a rush on pick-up, only checked the areas I knew were problems. Those were dealt with, though their invoice indicated they addressed far more areas than I found had fresh caulk. Later, I pulled out my ladder and really went over all the seams (I was doing slide seal maintenance). On my detail check... I found multiple areas where the old caulk was cracked & they did nothing.

I took photos and challenged them on the issue since I'd specifically told them I wanted to be proactive and I thought much of the 5-yr old caulk was going bad. Their response:
1) since I'd driven the RV (10 miles), new cracks had appeared due to road stress & flex
2) there is no reason to replace aged caulk, just wait for the cracks to appear and only fix the part with cracks

I say BS to both. But... I am new and may have an unrealistic expectation. I'm currently planning on dealing with the caulking myself. It can't be all that different from caulking traditional kitchen & bathroom borders and I have done that.

Advice / Recommendations welcome!
2013 Sundance 3300CK
2013 Ram 3500 diesel
14 REPLIES 14

mr__ed
Explorer
Explorer
I've never removed old caulk, either. I found Eternabond tape to be an excellent alternative. Just apply over the old caulk, making sure to use the proper tape width so that there is enough area for it to seal to next to the caulk( if I recall, I used 4" width tape). It's usually a permanent fix when done correctly.
Mr. Ed (fulltiming since 1987)
Life is fragile. Handle with prayer.

2007 Hitchhiker II LS Model 29.5 LKTG (sold)