cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Battery and Quick Disconnect Question

cjb2017
Explorer
Explorer
Disclaimer: I'm new to camping...bought my first travel trailer 2 months ago.

Question: If I remove the battery quick connect/disconnect, does this remove all draw from the battery? I am under the impression that it does.

I pull the disconnect when I store my camper with the intent that it will be (rather) fully charged for me to pre-cool my propane refrigerator for the day or two prior to my next departure.

A few weeks ago...Not knowing how long it takes for my refrigerator to cool down, I engaged the battery connect/disconnect and lit my refrigerator 3 days in advanced. I checked on it each day and it was cooling quite nicely. The morning of departure, I opened my refrigerator door to find a warm unit. I only assume the battery was drained by then and thus the refrigerator could not operate. Does this sound correct? If so, any advice? Turn on refrigerator the night before rather than a couple days? Could it have been something else (a storm the night before...could this have blown out the flame and for some reason it did not electronically re-ignite?)?
12 REPLIES 12

red31
Explorer
Explorer
cjb2017 wrote:
I pull the battery disconnect key. It looks like a key that inserts into a plug in the cargo area.

I would hope it disconnects every thing xept the brake away for the brakes.

You do have battery self discharge with the battery disconnected.

The fridge and Propane/CO detectors are constant drains on the battery when you are precooling the fridge.

cjb2017
Explorer
Explorer
I pull the battery disconnect key. It looks like a key that inserts into a plug in the cargo area.

2DHoop
Explorer
Explorer
Anytime I suspect a parasitic draw on a battery (car, boat, RV..etc), I use a D.C. ammeter to see if there is any current flowing when everything is presumably "off". A decent meter wil measure down to the milliamperes.