cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Care and feeding of my ex650?

Naio
Explorer
Explorer
I got one of these nice purring little gennies used, and now I need to know what to do with it!

I have zero experience with small gas engines. Never had a gas lawnmower.

I dumped the gas out of it and ran it dry, on the suggestion of a friend. Now, should I get special ethanol-free gas for it? Or can I use regular? I suppose it predates unleaded regular...?

Should I add stabil? How much?

What do I need to do in terms of ongoing maintenance?

I think I can print out a manual, but I figure some of these aspects (like what fuel to run) will be outdated and I need to ask you guys.

I did get a gardening knee mat to put under it, on the advice of somebody here (smkettner?) but I don't have a rear rack for it yet.
3/4 timing in a DIY van conversion. Backroads, mountains, boondocking, sometimes big cities for a change of pace.
21 REPLIES 21

Snowman9000
Explorer
Explorer
The van is fine. Not as sensitive as small engines. Plus, it doesn't do any good to add Sta-Bil to old gas.
Currently RV-less but not done yet.

Naio
Explorer
Explorer
Hmmm.. is it bad that I have had the same gas in my VAN since April? With no Stabil? Should I add some now?

I told you I am a doofus :B. I did not think I would be driving so little this summer, but life got in the way.
3/4 timing in a DIY van conversion. Backroads, mountains, boondocking, sometimes big cities for a change of pace.

mbopp
Explorer
Explorer
Here's a link to a manual:

EX650

YMMV, but I run ethanol-free fuel in all my small engines. Any fuel over a month old goes into one of my vehicles. I don't use a stabilizer but I run the carb dry at the end of the season and haven't had any issues.

This spring I had to clean the carb on SIL's string trimmer. He let it sit all winter with a load of E10 in it.
2017 Grand Design Imagine 2650RK
2019 F250 XLT Supercab
Just DW & me......

Naio
Explorer
Explorer