cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Electrical help needed DESPARETLY !

Bob_Dewater
Explorer
Explorer
Hello all, Im Bob, a newbie here, please bare with me.
My problem, My RV/ motorhome which i live in full time,I am wired in for 50 amp service 220 V ac, the issue is, had my lights go out today,
and after smelling something "odd" hot or burnt ish, took a bit but regained lights and heat, now it seems that my micro wont work, digi clock wont even come on, the other 1/2 went to turn on her elec blanket to no avail, i looked and noticed on the controller for said blanket, the small indicator lights were horribly dim, had to look closely to see them at all.
I would appear to be low voltage, somewhere well below 110 V ac.
Could this be ? how and why ??
I wont know untill later for sure when i obtain a volt meter.
Im not sure of the wiring in a system such as this.
Ideas ??
Thanx guys
Bob
12 REPLIES 12

john_bet
Explorer
Explorer
Time to check the connections on the transfer switch. As in real quick.
2018 Ram 3500 SRW CC LB 6.7L Cummins Auto 3.42 gears
2018 Grand Design 337RLS

Old-Biscuit
Explorer III
Explorer III
".....and after smelling something "odd" hot or burnt ish, took a bit but regained lights and heat....."

I'm curious as to what this statement means and what was done :H

Doesn't sound good and should point in direction of problem.
Is it time for your medication or mine?

2007 DODGE 3500 QC SRW 5.9L CTD In-Bed 'quiet gen'
2007 HitchHiker II 32.5 UKTG 2000W Xantex Inverter
US NAVY------USS Decatur DDG31

Mandalay_Parr
Explorer
Explorer
I suggest you find an electrical person to help you. Don't wait too long. Might also have loose connections in your power distribution panel.
Jerry Parr
Full-time
2005 Mandalay 40B
Cat C7 350, 4 Slides
Blue Ox, Brake Buddy
2004 CR-V Toad
jrparr@att.net
602-321-8141
K7OU - Amateur Radio
Kenwood Radios
ARRL, W5YI, & LARC VE
SKYWARN Weather Spotter

time2roll
Nomad
Nomad