cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Running AC off of my home's current/Please Respond

Olive600
Explorer
Explorer
I've been told that running the AC for my 2005 B Touring Cruiser Gulfstream off my house current can burn out the AC's air compressor. I've also been told that's not true, that the worst that will happen if there isn't enough current is that a fuse will blow. Unfortunately the difference of opinion has turned into some very bad feelings between friends. I'm still shaking. Please help me understand if you can. I'm new to all this. Evidently as an older, single woman I will be lied to and cheated at every turn. At least that's what I'm being told. (Yes, I'm so upset that I'm sniveling 8-) )

Thanks
41 REPLIES 41

AllegroD
Nomad
Nomad
Olive600 wrote:

Thank you, your response helps a lot. Now I feel like I have the whole picture. I also understand my particular situation better. I need to:

1. find out if the /circuit I'm using has anything else on it. My washing machine is inside the house and too far away from the RV to be useful.

This is important if a fan or washing machine robs volts/drops your volts below 108 or causing an overload and tripping the breaker.

2. check the power in the RV when I'm running the RV from the house outlet by plugging in a voltmeter. The reading should not drop below 108v.

Absolutely correct.

I checked my extension cord. It's 30amp, 125v, 3750watts. The label says it's for RV use. I think it's about 25ft long. Maybe a bit longer.

Thank you to everyone who has responded. I feel fully informed now.

You are on target.

Pauljdav
Explorer
Explorer
You can run your AC from the house as long as you do not have voltage drop. All you need to do is check the voltage in your RV with the AC running. I can run mine all day long and it stays above 110 volts.

Paul

LittleBill
Explorer
Explorer
it is unbelievable the amount of the******written in this thread.

this is a single line answer.