cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Vinyl fencepost for sewer hose storage

RetiredBob
Explorer
Explorer
I'm going to mount a 5"x5" vinyl fencepost for sewer hose storage. I'd like to drill a series of holes along the bottom to allow any liquid to drain out. How can I drill the holes without leaving burrs on the inside that could snag the hose?
34 REPLIES 34

Katdaddy
Explorer II
Explorer II
I have been using a fence post to hold my hoses for over 5 years now. I mounted the post on top of my camper's bumper. I bought allthread of the proper length and after measuring where the bends needed to be, heated the thread and bent it into a u shape. I drilled a piece of flat bar to accept the allthread under the bumper and bolted it into place. I drilled holes into each end and inserted a bolt. It holds the hoses in place, but allows plenty of air circulation. I did not drill any holes for drainage and have never had any problems.
Little by little, one travels far - J.R.R. Tolkien
There ain't no surer way to find out whether you like people or hate them than to travel with them. - Mark Twain

ependydad
Explorer
Explorer
westend wrote:

This is also what I did. I just don't have pictures.
2017 Spartan 1245 by Prime Time
2018 Ram 3500 Crew Cab DRW w/ 4.10 gears and 8' bed
FW Hitch: TrailerSaver TS3
Learn to RV- learn about RVing - Towing Planner Calculators - Family Fulltiming FB page

Carb_Cleaner
Explorer
Explorer
There are some ideas for mounting and closing HERE.
'13 F250XL SC gas 4x4 8', Camper & Plow packages, StableLoads, LT285/65R-18 Goodyear Wrangler A/T Adventure, 18x9 Ultra Motorsports "Phantom" wheels
'12 Wolf Creek 850 TC Coleman Polar Cub 9.2k A/C, 90 watt solar, dual propane & batteries, Maggie Rack

wa8yxm
Explorer III
Explorer III
Mine is tarp strapped (will soon double strap it) to the frame rails under my Damon Intruder.

I modified the "open" end of the post (the "Closed" end I simply screwed the cap on with screws)