cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

30 Amp Plug Diagram

2012Coleman
Explorer
Explorer
A while back, I was having a 30 amp plug installed at my home, and someone posted a great wiring diagram. I've tried searching for it in my posts but can't find it - even with the advanced search, searching the archives.

The reason is that I need to give it to a friend who just bought a used 2018 TT and now that it is home, he is having trouble with the AC. I went to the inspection with him and it was working fine.

The previous owner of his home had a nice RV parking spot set up with a plug. My friend said that he couldn't plug in because the receptacle was wrong - so he went and bought the correct one for a 30 amp RV plug and installed it himself.

So during his first driveway camping adventure, he stated that the AC started making funny noises and dripping cold water and not cooling so great, which sounds like the coil was freezing up.

I'm no expert, but I'm thinking that the voltage/wiring is wrong. I told him to have it checked out, but having that diagram would be helpful.

Am I on the right track as to what the issue could be?
Experience without good judgment is worthless; good judgment without experience is still good judgment!

2018 RAM 3500 Big Horn CTD
2018 Grand Design Reflection 303RLS
13 REPLIES 13

bob213
Explorer
Explorer
After your response to SoundGuy I almost didn't post this but your friend needs more help than you can give him.
RV electric
You can avoid reality, but you cannot avoid the consequences of avoiding reality – Ayn Rand

newman_fulltime
Explorer
Explorer
Take it off low fan and auto put it to hi on and let it run those issues will go away

drsteve
Explorer
Explorer
Before messing with the power source wiring, I'd get up on the roof, pull the A/C shroud, and clean the fins, as well as making sure the drip tray is clean.
2006 Silverado 1500HD Crew Cab 2WD 6.0L 3.73 8600 GVWR
2018 Coachmen Catalina Legacy Edition 223RBS