cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Advice on travel trailer brakes

tentenroad
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new to travel trailer towing, and need some advice on setting up the trailer brakes. I have a brake module under the truck dash that gives me a variety of brake settings. How do I know when I have the brakes setting properly? What are trailer brakes supposed to feel like?
7 REPLIES 7

tentenroad
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks for all the great advice. Will get to work on it.

Old-Biscuit
Explorer III
Explorer III
Terryallan wrote:
When a brake controller is correctly set. You should NOT actually "feel" the trailer brakes come on with the brakes pedal. The TV, and trailer should just stop as one.

Generally to setup a Brake controller. You find a large lot. Get up to 25 MPH, and pull the manual lever all the way to it's stop. You want the trailer brakes to "ALMOST" lock up, but not quite. If they are too strong, adjust, and do it again, same if they are too weak.

You do NOT want the trailer brakes to jerk the TV, or push the TV using the brake pedal. As I said. The TV, and TT should smoothly stop as one.

X2

Of course this is assuming trailer brakes have been properly adjusted.
Most trailer brakes have to be manually adjusted. Even new trailer brakes should be checked

Jack up one wheel at a time.
On backside of drum is a slot (bottom with rubber plug)
Inside is a star wheel..
Rotate tire by hand and adjust star wheel until brake shoes are tight against drum stopping you from being able to rotate tire (use a wide flat blade screw driver....usually the star wheel tightens by moving it upward-----insert screw driver at an angle with handle high, engage star wheel then move handle down)
Then back off star wheel until you can just rotate wheel (should hear/feel drag of brake shoes)

After checking/adjusting brakes.....go set up controller as above
Is it time for your medication or mine?

2007 DODGE 3500 QC SRW 5.9L CTD In-Bed 'quiet gen'