cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Best way to store a truck camper

glc52
Explorer
Explorer
I recently purchased a used 2011 Wolf Creek truck camper, but won't be using it much until this summer. I am new to the RV world, so not sure how I should store it when it's not on my 2006 Ram 3500 short box megacab. I only have 12' on the side of my house with a slight incline that leans toward my neighbor's house to work with or in my neighborhood many people park their boats and RV's in the driveway. I am thinking of just parking it on half of my 2 car driveway, which has a slight downhill slope to it. The guy I bought the TC from indicated that he thought it was a good idea to put the trailer on heavy duty saw horses to protect the electric jacks. It came with a nice breathable cover that is supposed to be good in this Pacific Northwest climate, so I was planning on putting that on it. Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Gerald
34 REPLIES 34

dadwolf2
Explorer
Explorer
My main element to protect from is the sun. I have a shade sail system that is high enough for me to drive under with the camper on the truck. Camper is next to the house, behind a gate to protect my million dollar investment!! :B Or should I say, not being in an HOA is priceless?

Obviously the best system if you have the space is indoor storage.
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 CTD,4X4,NV5600
2014 Adventurer 86FB

finaddict
Explorer
Explorer
Costco tarp shed (12 x 20) and then raised up 5 feet on 3" PVC piping. Sides and back of shed stay on, front is removed. Here in rainy coastal BC, snow load is not usually much of a worry, so it stays up all year. Dry, and protected from the UV, my last camper's life was extended by several years and my 2001 Alpenlite looks like new

TheHardWay9
Explorer
Explorer
Gotchya. So if you don't back under the camper just right, its a way to make it right. I'd be worried about messing up the bed of my truck doing that though!
'13 Camp Lite 10.0