Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Black water problems

curly5759
Explorer
Explorer
This is long, I apoligize in advance. 🙂

I am still very new to camping in a TT with a holding tank and that lack of knowledge has led to a plugged black tank. I have read a dozen or so threads on this and other boards and watched quite a few utube videos but I am still seeking a 'silver bullet' to fix the problem.

The tank was not emptied enough and or we didn't have enough water in there, either way I have the dreaded poo pyramid. I have filled the tank with water and enzymes, let it sit for several days and then took it in too town to dump it. It drained the liquid I put in there, but when I refilled it at the dump station( through the toilet) it only took a few gallons and then filled. At that point it will not drain anymore. I brought it home and started calling service centers. The closest is 90 miles one way and they are estimating $400 to clear the clog. I'm in a rural section of AZ and there are little to no choices available. The closest dump station is 10 miles away.

The black tank pipe exits the middle of the tank and is about 3 feet from the cap to the tank, with a 90* elbow, so I don't think a flush king will help, too far away to get any psi up into the tank. And, they don't sell any in town. Any suggestions?
Thanks
19 REPLIES 19

krlgswanson
Explorer
Explorer
curly5759 wrote:
Update-- I found an RV service center nearby that I did not originally find on my initial searches. They were able to clear the clog and clean the tank. The tech explained to me the proper way to use the black tank and how to keep it from clogging again.

Thanks for your input.

Curly

Curly what instructions did the Technician give you? If you don't mind sharing them I know there are others that would benefit from the explanation...I am one for sure.

Thanks,
Ken Swanson
2003 Winnebago Brave
2007 Jeep Liberty
2005 Honda Metropolitan

Possumpoint
Explorer
Explorer