cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Dark differential lube

Blazing_Zippers
Explorer II
Explorer II
Being the good owner that I am---I took the Ram to a shop for its oil change. I've had LOF done there before with no issues.
This time, they said that the rear differential gear oil was "dark," and that the brake fluid needed changing. The truck has just over 26,000 miles, and about half of that was towing a trailer or fifth wheel.
I'm not a mechanic, but I've never had to do either of these things. In fact, I don't recall anyone I know changing these fluids except when disassembling their vehicle. Has this shop turned into a "stealership?"
Your thoughts please.
52 REPLIES 52

Cummins12V98
Explorer III
Explorer III
No idea. No biggie to me. I service lots of things at 15k. I do tow VERY HEAVY.
2015 RAM LongHorn 3500 Dually CrewCab 4X4 CUMMINS/AISIN RearAir 385HP/865TQ 4:10's
37,800# GCVWR "Towing Beast"

"HeavyWeight" B&W RVK3600

2016 MobileSuites 39TKSB3 highly "Elited" In the stable

2007.5 Mobile Suites 36 SB3 29,000# Combined SOLD

Dave_H_M
Explorer II
Explorer II
Not sure what you mean by "are doing on the RAM"

Put another way. I cannot imagine constantly (15K miles) changing the gear lube on my ford as much as you do on the Ram. Last Ford F250 I had I got all hinky reading this board and yanked the diffy cover at 100K. The stuff that came out looked like new.

The F250 I have now will probably get the diffy serviced at 100K if i live to drive it that far. I go out each winter pulling a 10K fifth wheel. Since my curiosity is tweaked I am gonna get the book out of the Ford and update this post with what it says.

My Ford Scheduled maintenance service gives the following info:

Every 105K miles - Change rear axel fluid (Dana Axles)

Every 150K miles - Change the front and rear diffy and transfer case fluid.