cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Diesel Trucks

JaycoAngel
Explorer
Explorer
A newbie here to the forum. Would like to ask diesel owners if they would recommend a diesel for use as a primary vehicle (short trips to the grocery, etc. when not pulling). We have heard that short trips are hard on the injectors.
24 REPLIES 24

FishOnOne
Explorer III
Explorer III
JaycoAngel wrote:
A newbie here to the forum. Would like to ask diesel owners if they would recommend a diesel for use as a primary vehicle (short trips to the grocery, etc. when not pulling). We have heard that short trips are hard on the injectors.

Short trips is hard on the emissions systems on the new diesels. I use my diesel as a daily driver too, but not to go to the grocery store and short trips all the time, although it does get used for these type driving conditions as well. Diesel emissions prefer highway miles, but are tolerable to short trips to some point until the DPF needs to be cleaned and that requires some driving to clean them out.

Short trips only driving is better left to a gas powered truck.
'12 Ford Super Duty FX4 ELD CC 6.7 PSD 400HP 800ft/lbs "270k Miles"
'16 Sprinter 319MKS "Wide Body"

colliehauler
Explorer II
Explorer II
I have to agree with others that short trips are hard on them with the new emissions. I keep a daily gas driver for around town and use the Diesel for towing.

JaycoAngel
Explorer
Explorer
Thank you!

whjco
Explorer
Explorer
My 2015 Ram 2500 CTD is my daily driver and I've racked up over 50,000 miles on it. Absolutely no problems whatsoever using it as a daily driver.
Bill J., Lexington, KY
2006 Starcraft 2500RKS 25' Travel Trailer
2015 Ram 2500 Big Horn 6.7 Cummins.

JaycoAngel
Explorer
Explorer
Thanks for everyone's input !!

Ron3rd
Explorer
Explorer
I use the 2500 CTD in my sig as my daily driver and love it.
2016 6.7 CTD 2500 BIG HORN MEGA CAB
2013 Forest River 3001W Windjammer
Equilizer Hitch
Honda EU2000