cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do RV park hookups have home outlets or just 30A plugs only?

Sentinelist
Explorer
Explorer
I'm new at this obviously. The AC generating power center in my Lance took a dump, which I could honestly care less about as I was rewiring the whole thing to run off a battery bank with solar anyway (which it is now and is awesome). But I've lost my 30A 'shoreline' hookup for power as a result. Since it was all hardwired, I went ahead and just cut the cable and replaced it with a good 12GA standard electrical cord I can pull out and hookup to a home's power. The 3-way splitter on the other end inside gets the cables swapped over to it that are currently plugged into the inverter.

Do any RV parks with hookups have these standard connections as well or is it only the large 30A connections? I'm fully self-contained, but it'd be nice to plug in and run the AC for more than an hour a day...
'The TerraShuttle'
1993 Chevrolet Silverado K3500 6.5L mechanically-injected turbo-diesel 4x4 quad-cab SRW long-bed, Olympic White, 278k miles, 2001 Lance 815 self-contained TC rig

My build thread
21 REPLIES 21

deltabravo
Nomad
Nomad
n7bsn wrote:
Em, you do know that the conventional 15amp 120 plug is not rated for running the A/C, well, plus the converter and anything else. By "not rated" I mean it will may melt (yes I have seen that)

RUns my AC just fine and the plug hasn't melted.

If a plug melts, then it has other problems, not because I'm running 15 amps through a 15 amp plug.

Back on topic:

Every RV park/campground with power/state park I've been to has household style outlets in addition to 30 and 50 amp RV connections.
Most of them have the household style on a 20 amp breaker.
2009 Silverado 3500HD Dually, D/A, CCLB 4x4 (bought new 8/30/09)
2018 Arctic Fox 992 with an Onan 2500i "quiet" model generator

Voyager_Mike
Explorer
Explorer