cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Equal-i-zer lubrication

RonRN18
Explorer
Explorer
I am new to owning a trailer and I have an Equal-i-zer weight distribution hitch. I see they say to only use their brand of lubricant on the hitch. I can not find ANY store locally that has even heard of their brand of lubricant. I've heard different answers as to what else I can use. I've heard white lithium grease and I've heard DRY silicone spray. My gut tells me that white lithium grease would be good. On my first outing, I didn't have any lubricant and it was VERY loud. I ordered some Equal-i-zer brand lubricant which arrives while I'm out on my next trip. Anyone else out there have an Equal-i-zer WDS hitch? What do you use?
2016 Ford F150 XLT SuperCrew FX4 with 5.0L V8
2019 Mesa Ridge 2410RL travel trailer
35 REPLIES 35

Bears_Den
Explorer
Explorer
I get news letters from Equalizer and the last one talked about lubricating the Equalizer hitch and bars. Iโ€™ve been doing it for years and using white lithium grease.
2014 Kodiak 279 rbsl
2017 Ford F-150 King Ranch V8
Equalizer hitch
Ford integrated brake controller
2004 Travel Lite 23S Hybrid Travel Trailer ( previous trailer )
1998 Viking Popup ( previous trailer )

No substitute for experience

LoudRam
Explorer
Explorer
I run with my L brackets dry to. I thought about ordering the pads but I never did. The noise don't bother me that much. I use bearing grease on the hitch head.
Todd
Desert Storm Vet (US Navy)
2019 Ram 1500 Classic Quad Cab Express 4X4 5.7 Hemi 3.92
2021 Coachmen Spirit Ultra Lite 2557RB

If you can read this thank a teacher
If you can read this in english thank a vet

opnspaces
Navigator II
Navigator II
Maybe you'll get lucky and the additional slide jacket thickness will add enough added pressure to adjust the hitch.