cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

stupid breakaway cable wiring...

woodtrucker
Explorer
Explorer
I have been perplexed which is easy to do since I'm not an electrician but try to do things safely.
I have wired up the breakaway switch as the diagram here suggests.
I have crimped a ring terminal onto the black wire and attached it to the + pos battery. I've spliced in the blue cable from the breakawy switch exactly where the old switch was spliced which is coming off the brake signal from 7way plug which is a blue wire.
I hooked everything up but the 7way and pulled the pin and no breaks.
Just to check to see if the switch was good, I disconnected the brake (blue wire from break away switch) and measured voltage across that wire and ground stud on camper. 0 volts when pin is in switch and about 11 volts when pin is pulled. Seems right but does that voltage need to be higher? Hooked everything back up and tried it with cable attached in the brake (blue) wire and no brake hum at all. Funny thing is, the brake work fine from TV so I know everything is hooked up correctly on brake wiring...any suggestions?
2007.5 6.7 liter, Suncoast M3GA-68-5 Comp, mega cab,1 ton, srw, 4x4, Factory EB,3.73s
mods-EGR Delete (brand unknown), DPF delete, CCV-delete, FS-2500 bypass filter, H&S Black Maxx Tuner
2003 keystone cougar 281 EFS-31ft
13 REPLIES 13

woodtrucker
Explorer
Explorer
by the way,
thanks to EVERYONE for being so helpful, polite, and knowledgeable.
This is by far the best forum I've ever been part of!
:B
2007.5 6.7 liter, Suncoast M3GA-68-5 Comp, mega cab,1 ton, srw, 4x4, Factory EB,3.73s
mods-EGR Delete (brand unknown), DPF delete, CCV-delete, FS-2500 bypass filter, H&S Black Maxx Tuner

woodtrucker
Explorer
Explorer
thanks bartlettj,
I ended up jacking one side of trailer up. pulling pin and check wheels. No issues.
Brakes were locked up tight so I'm ready to hit the road again.