cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Too many miles?

brebar
Explorer
Explorer
Hello everyone. I am new to the RV experience, I just purchased a new Tracer 240 TE. I have planned a trip from Michigan to Glacier NP. I reserved all the camp sites along the way.

My question is, did I "over do it", as far as miles between campsites?

The first three days I am going to be driving 516 miles from Holly MI to Lake Gogebic MI, then from Gogebic to Devils Lake ND, 491 miles. Then from Devils lake ND to Shelby MT, 650 miles. most of the way we will be traveling on US. 2.

I recently read in "The RV book" by Mark Polk that I should try not to travel more than 350 miles per day. (I planned the trip before I bought this book)

I planned the trip so that we can stay at Glacier for 6 Days and relax and tour the park.

Any opinions or scoldings would be appreciated:h
84 REPLIES 84

JohnG4706
Explorer
Explorer
Well, towing the TT is something I have never done before, I was assured by the dealer that I my TV (2008 Ford Explorer) rated to tow 5500 lbs, could pull safely. They also sold me an Equalizer Weight Distribution hitch. I did some research on towing with this TV, and while it is probably near the limit, it seems that the weights are in spec.

The Prime Time web site says that the TT is designed to be pulled with an SUV.

The TT is rated at 4110, according to my MI registration.

I really didn't want to start a, " Can my TV tow this TT" thread here, because I can always look through the archives on this forum, or do the math myself. I will also weight it at a scale according to instructions given in some books I bought. Thanks for asking, it has been a real concern for me.