cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tow 23Rs With F150 Supercew

eruca_clb
Explorer
Explorer
Hi, I am new to RV. Recently I am getting very interested in the keystone 23RS. I have a 2014 F150 4x4 Supercrew 145" wheelbase 5.0L V8 engine short box. I have search internet and the lowest number I found for towing capacity is 7700 lb. Since the 23RS dry weight is 5060 lbs, it seems my F150 can handle it. I also plan to get a sway control hitch like the equalizer. So my question is if my F150 good enough to handle the 23RS or do I have to choose something smaller like 18RS?
10 REPLIES 10

Terryallan
Explorer II
Explorer II
Truthfully. You don't need any where near 20% tongue weight. 11 to 14 will be plenty.
Terry & Shay
Coachman Apex 288BH.
2013 F150 XLT Off Road
5.0, 3.73
Lazy Campers

Walaby
Explorer II
Explorer II
Here's a nice online calculator that can help

http://changingears.com/rv-sec-calc-trailer-weight-tt.shtml
Im Mike Willoughby, and I approve this message.
2017 Ram 3500 CTD (aka FRAM)
2019 GrandDesign Reflection 367BHS

OutdoorPhotogra
Explorer
Explorer
Get your truck weighed with a full tank of gas and all tools that you keep in the truck. Subtract that from GVWR and that is how much you have left for passengers, gear, and tongue weight.

Where you messed up on TW is you were dividing rather than multiplying. Multiple loaded TT weight times .15. You might get by with 13% but 15% gives you a fudge factor on side of safety. Take into account 100lbs for WDH.

As an F-150 owner, I can tell you that pax, gear, and TW is going to take you to your GVWR. That means you're going to have max 6150 for loaded TT weight with no margin for safety.

Also, you can check the axle ratio code on the sticker on the door and a quick Google will give you the ratio and tow rating. I think new trucks have it in the manual or glove box. I don't for my 2007.

Hope this helps.
2008 Rockwood Signature Ultralite 5th Wheel
F-250 6.2 Gasser