cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Towing w/out weight dist -- am I being too conservative?

willdennis
Explorer
Explorer
Hi all,

I have been towing since 2010, first with a 2010 Chevy Silverado 1500, where on the first TT I had (bought used) I used a Reese WD hitch that came with it (Dual Cam model), but then went to a ProPride 3P when I got my current TT in 2017. In 2018, I got a much better TV (GMC gasser 2500) which of course has a much better towing capacity, and kept using the ProPride with that.

After my first trip of this season, I noticed the ProPride hitch head on the TT didn't move as smoothly as it should, and removed the top pivot "hubcaps", and found that the left-hand bearing assembly was all rusty (water intrusion) and that the topmost roller bearing had cracked open (!) Towed it over to my RV mechanic who inspected both upper pivots (each contain two roller-bearing assemblies) and he tells me all four are bad! (who knows about the bottom two pivots bearings...) So, because of this and other PP issues (hitching can be a real drag), I'm done with the ProPride... Told my RV mechanic to remove it from the TT, and he did.

But, dumb luck, my sister's boyfriend just got rid of his TT, and has a 2008 BlueOx SwayPro with 1000-lb bars that he's glad to loan to me, so I went over and got it from him. Unfortunately, my RV mechanic said he will not install any hitch that he doesn't sell (and at present, he can only get Fastway e2 hitches, which I don't want.) So, I'm faced with towing the TT just on the ball, at least to another place that installs customer-provided hitches (I actually found one that's 15 min's away from my RV mech.)