cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Water in Fuel? When Do You Drain the Filter?

BurbMan
Explorer II
Explorer II
Hi diesel noob here again LOL....so I'm considering taking the plunge and buying my first diesel, 2015 Ram 3500 with 6.7L Cummins and 81k miles.

Reading through the Diesel Supplement to the owner's manual, it says that if the "Water in Fuel" light comes on while driving, to stop immediately and drain both fuel filters, one of which is located under the truck. It occurs to me that that light is only going to come on when I'm dressed up taking DW somewhere...

Do you drain the filters periodically to prevent the light from coming on? How often is that needed? If you're on the 8-lane bypass with traffic zipping by and the light comes on, do you pull over and shut 'er down?

Thanks in advance!
44 REPLIES 44

noteven
Explorer III
Explorer III
4x4ord wrote:
I think periodic fuel filter changes is a waste of time and money. If you get dirty fuel the new filter will plug almost immediately.... if the fuel you get is clean your filters will last for years. Some of my diesel engines haven't seen a filter change in 15 years. I change my fuel filters if I notice a lack of power or when the fuel restriction gauge shows a problem.

Don’t tell anyone but I was learned in Fleetguard filtration school that air filters need not be changed until the restriction indicator says to change. They do a better job of filtering as they load with dirt.

Grit_dog
Navigator
Navigator
4x4ord wrote:
I think periodic fuel filter changes is a waste of time and money. If you get dirty fuel the new filter will plug almost immediately.... if the fuel you get is clean your filters will last for years. Some of my diesel engines haven't seen a filter change in 15 years. I change my fuel filters if I notice a lack of power or when the fuel restriction gauge shows a problem.