Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

22 Less Crowded National Parks

DallasSteve
Nomad
Nomad
The Guardian: 22 Less Crowded National Parks

Here's an interesting article I stumbled across listing 22 less crowded national parks. One of the first was The Dry Tortugas. No wonder it's less crowded. Your RV needs to be a boat.
2022 JAYCO JAY FLIGHT SLX 8 324BDS
2022 FORD F-250 XL CREW CAB 4X4
All my exes live in Texas, that's why I live in an RV
21 REPLIES 21

NCWriter
Explorer
Explorer
agesilaus wrote:
DallasSteve wrote:
I have no experience with National Parks/National Forests. Can you explain the difference? Do National Forests have paved roads or campsites with hookups?

...The differences from our standpoint can be hard to see. NPS lands tend to have highly restrictive policies, don't pick up that rock for example. CG are usually developed but without hooksups of any sort.....

Have to disagree here with that last sentence above. Some major National Parks actually do have campgrounds with hookups. Yellowstone, Zion, Everglades, Grand Canyon, Grand Teton come to mind, and there are probably others. Do we also dry camp in some NPs? Sure, itโ€™s all good!

Some National Forest and COE campgrounds put NPs to shame, though, with more modern sites with good roads, electric and often water.. I think the NPS budget keeps getting cut year by year, and modernizing the campgrounds is a low priority.

By the way, I thought that list would surely include New Mexicoโ€™s Chaco Culture National Historical Site as an uncrowded option. One of the most fascinating and least-visited national sites anywhere.

Barbielab
Explorer
Explorer
A ranger at Grand Teton NP years ago had the perfect description of the difference between the NP and adjoining NF when I asked where we could walk our dog. She said go to the NF, the difference is this dotted line on the map.I have found that to be true for most parks we visit.