cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Storing rv in desert heat

AnnieCobey
Explorer
Explorer
I’m leaving my fifth wheel set up in an rv park for the summer months Any tips on what I should do to before I leave. I won’t be returning until late fall. Also can I leave food or drinks in the rv or should I get rid of them. Any advice would be great as this is my first year doing this
20 REPLIES 20

tazwing
Explorer
Explorer
joshuajim wrote:
tazwing wrote:
We always use milk jugs but put each one in a disposable aluminum turkey roaster.

Wouldn’t it be easier to just fill the turkey roasters with water?

Probably, but the narrow mouth jugs release the moisture slower than the roasters. We also put a large garbage can in the bathtub and fill it about halfway, that's just my husband doing overkill though.

Elizabeth24
Explorer
Explorer
Lots of great advice,be especially careful with leaving cleaning products, bleach explodes and eats flooring. Know that the hard way!
We would leave several 7 gallon water containers full with the lids off and when we would return in the fall they were 3/4 empty.

Never really had problems with mice but sand would get in no matter how
we sealed everything up.

joshuajim
Explorer II
Explorer II
tazwing wrote:
We always use milk jugs but put each one in a disposable aluminum turkey roaster.

Wouldn’t it be easier to just fill the turkey roasters with water?
RVing since 1995.

tazwing
Explorer
Explorer

timmac
Explorer
Explorer
I would never store my RV outside in the southwest summers, besides the extreme heat our sun intensity on a scale of 1 to 10 is 12..

I would at least invest in a RV cover to keep the sun off the RV and will help keep it cooler inside, even if the shade cover got ripped in our many winds we have here.

Here is how I store my RV in Vegas.

doxiemom11
Explorer II
Explorer II