cancel
Showing results forย 
Search instead forย 
Did you mean:ย 

Any good solar articles

stew47
Explorer
Explorer
Hello everyone. So to get started with a solar project... any good articles I should read? I have 2010 crossroads cruiser fiver. Like to be able to boondock and also plug into a generator left in the bed of my truck. My skill with electric work is probably better than average. I was a electrician in a factory and Iโ€™ve been wiring on fire trucks for years. However I also donโ€™t want to make rookie mistakes because I didnโ€™t ask lol. Thanks in advance.
12 REPLIES 12

memtb
Explorer
Explorer
x3
Todd & Marianne
Miniature Schnauzer's - Sundai, Nellie & Maggie Mae
2007 Dodge Ram 3500, 6.7 Cummins, 6 speed manual, 3.73 ratio, 4x4
2004 Teton Grand Freedom, 39'
2007 Bigfoot 30MH26Sl

Almot
Explorer III
Explorer III
westend wrote:

I have solar charging and would offer this suggestion: Install more panel wattage than what you think is necessary.

x2.

If only "they" always listened ๐Ÿ™‚

westend
Explorer
Explorer
Solar power in the RV world is about charging the 12V batteries and offering some power, during the day, to run 12V devices. Your 12V system will also power 120V devices if you invert the DC current.

There are a number of threads about solar on this Forum. Dan Meyer has good info on his site. Pianotuna's article on solar use is also good. Handybob is entertainment although the few interspersed tips are good.

I have solar charging and would offer this suggestion: Install more panel wattage than what you think is necessary. Panels are still cheap and an extra one or two will fill that future hole when you dig up more ideas about how to use free power.

Good luck with solar!
'03 F-250 4x4 CC
'71 Starcraft Wanderstar -- The Cowboy/Hilton

Almot
Explorer III
Explorer III
OP says he is not a beginner, not in electrical domain.