cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Any haulers with 20 foot cargo length?

Identifier
Explorer
Explorer
Hi all. I'm new to RVing and hauling but I have an 18 foot "toy" that I want to take with me camping to various places across the US. I'm trying to decide between buying a toy hauler vs. buying a 30' motorhome pulling a 20' enclosed trailer. The motorhome-pulling-a-trailer idea sounds like a 55' train of disaster just waiting to happen, but the problem with toy haulers is that most of them only have a 10'-12' "cargo area". My toy is just a little over 18 feet long (but only a few feet wide at the ends). Does anyone have any suggestions on any toy haulers like that? Personally I'd just settle on a bare bones 20' enclosed trailer but the misses wants a bed to sleep on and a bathroom to pee in and the usual stuff like that... go figure 🙂 Also I don't own a tow vehicle yet so I'm leaning towards a 5th wheel as opposed to a TT (for stability and handling advantages etc.)

Thanks for any advice!!
40 REPLIES 40

Bedlam
Most standard Class C motor homes run an extension off the rear of the vehicle chassis which limits them to 5000 lb towing. Most enclosed trailers 18' or longer are over 2500 lbs empty. You have to get a Super C to get higher tow ratings which will increase the vehicle price. If you want 4wd, few Class C rigs offer it as an option.

Host Mammoth 11.5 on Ram 5500 HD

WGLASSJR
Explorer
Explorer
Did you ever consider a 29'or shorter MH with a slide and a 18' cargo trailer?

Free_Range_Huma
Explorer
Explorer
Identifier wrote:
I need to find a truck camper to go visit though so I can check out all the models since nobody around where I live sells them (they don't sell the toy haulers either).

YouTube

You can find almost any video on any RV you want. Start with the search term truck camper interior once there.

tinner12002
Explorer
Explorer
Sounds like you need an enclosed gooseneck trailer with living quarters. Lengths up to 53ft.