cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

B&W companion hitch question

Toolguy5
Explorer II
Explorer II
This is my first B&W hitch. So I am still learning. Those of you that take it in and out of your truck. Do you replace it with the gooseneck ball or just leave the hole empty?

If you leave it empty doesn't it get dirty and harder to put the companion hitch back in?

If you put the ball in do you put it in upside down so bed is clear? If so doe the latch pin under neath still latch? How much if any grease do you apply?
Dan & Patty
Miss Pickles the Pomeranian Princess Rainbow Bridge 8/8/2023
2020 GMC 3500 Sierra Denali 6.6 Duramax / Allison tranny
2021 Jayco Eagle 319MLOK
BWRVK 3710 companion
Maddy the Pampered Pom @ Rainbow Bridge 12-3-2013
12 REPLIES 12

RDS33
Explorer
Explorer
I don't leave mine in unless needed. I know that they can bind in the hole and be very difficult to remove. So if you want it in remove once and a while to clean it. I know of one of my son's friends had to jack from the bottom and still had difficulty getting his out.

Toolguy5
Explorer II
Explorer II
Thanks to all.

I also talked to B&W, they mentioned that a small forgers coffee can lid fits perfect on the hole with plug in. I will be. Removing my hitch next week so I will see how it goes.
Dan & Patty
Miss Pickles the Pomeranian Princess Rainbow Bridge 8/8/2023
2020 GMC 3500 Sierra Denali 6.6 Duramax / Allison tranny
2021 Jayco Eagle 319MLOK
BWRVK 3710 companion
Maddy the Pampered Pom @ Rainbow Bridge 12-3-2013

Sturgeon-Phish
Explorer
Explorer
I fill the hole with the turn over ball when the hitch is removed
2003 GMC 3500 crew dually. Transfer Flow 50g aux tank; ISSPRO gauges, PPE boost valve, air box mods, stock exhaust w/o muffler, Line-X, Pace Edwards bed locker power tonneau. B&W Companion. Pulls a '05 Wildcat 31QBH 5th wheel

Ram4Sam
Explorer
Explorer